Running With Scissors

Like most things I’ve done in life, I typically jump in with both feet and deal with the consequences of those actions afterward. I was speaking to a friend on the phone tonight and was telling him about my weekend. It went something like this:

“So, before I knew it, I was out until almost 3:00am and then after all that had to meet my family for dim sum for brunch. Can you believe that? I mean, all I wanted was a big, greasy breakfast. Here people were offering me sticky rice and dumplings and all I wanted was bacon and eggs.”

Ok, so out of context, it clearly isn’t that funny but as he pointed out to me on the phone, I have a unique way of viewing the world and the otherwise mundane things that happen during my experiences within it. He said I should start a blog. I told him I didn’t really know how to do it but as you can see, I’ve gotten this far so I suppose that is not too shabby.

Now, this is where I may need an audience. I don’t know the rules of a blog. Are there rules? I think there are. Here are some imagined (or real) rules:

1. Each post must have some witty, quirky title that may or may not have anything to do with the actual post.
2. Blog posts are better if they have pictures, links and sound bytes attached to them.
3. Blog posts must not be too long or people won’t read them.
4. Although I may actually be writing about mundane events, there should be some deep, meaningful message about my philosophy of life hidden in the depths of my writing.
5. A blog is not an online diary.

The above rules reflect my perception of what I think most blogs are. The real truth is that we all know there are no rules. That being said, I will most definitely be breaking some (if not, all) of the above rules.

Kelry

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Running With Scissors

  1. Regan Ross

    Unbelievable. I’ve been reading a blogging book for 4 months and you create one and post your first post in less than an hour after thinking about the idea for the first time.

    I love it!

    R

  2. samantha

    great idea kelly…i agree with your friend that you do have a twist on how you view life and what happens to it. i have always enjoyed your witty emails and now i have something else to read and look forward to!

Leave a Reply

