Crazy is as crazy does.

I was on my way home from work yesterday and stopped at a light. I looked in my rearview mirror and noticed the car behind me come up quite fast and have to stop at the last minute. It wasn’t a dangerous situation by any means but this person was obviously distracted.

True, since getting T-boned by a woman two years ago who chose to drink her coffee, smoke her cigarette and look through pictures on her camera rather than stop at a stop sign and since getting rear-ended very badly on the highway by a 17-year old I have been a little more aware and perhaps sensitive to these things.

As the light turned green and we continued along, I looked again and saw that she was on her cell phone. This made me very nervous as traffic began it’s stop and go pattern for the next 50 metres. Every time I stopped I looked back and I began to notice that each time, I stopped a little shorter. That would teach her a lesson! It’s like I was hoping to catch her…hoping to make her run into me just so I could say “I knew it” or “I told you so”.

We approached the on ramp for the highway and the OPP were checking cars. I always assume they are checking for seatbelts but this time, I hoped they would pull her over to bust her for her heinous crime!!

Suddenly, the clearest thought ocurred to me. It was like I had actually listened to my own thoughts. What was I doing? What was I trying to prove? True, people do annoy me on the road and I do like to utilize that lovely horn I have to remind them of their wrongdoings but there must be some line that can be drawn. I smiled to myself as I realized that I probably looked like the ‘crazy lady’, always stopping short of the traffic!

Ah well…crazy is as crazy does I guess!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

