Faking it Just a Little

Have you ever been in a conversation with someone and you’ve either pretended you didn’t know something that you had or pretended you hadn’t thought of something when you had five minutes beforehand? Well I have, and I did it just the other night.

I was volunteering and this person came up to me and started describing a movie they had just seen. They couldn’t recall the name of the movie but I knew it and had seen it myself. They began by telling me what the movie was about and then proceeded to share the entire plot with me.

I paid close attention and inserted the odd “uh huh” and “oh really?” and even began to ask detailed questions about the movie.

Why did I do this? I certainly didn’t do it to be obnoxious but had to ask myself why I was doing this. Was it out of laziness? Perhaps. Sometimes it’s easier to let a person who is clearly excited about a certain topic talk away. I suppose I started asking questions for my own entertainment. I liked how he was describing the movie and wanted to hear more. Apparently, from his engaging descriptions, our opinions of the actual movie differed greatly.

I also do this sometimes so I don’t come across as being obnoxious. Had I been up front with him, it would have put an end to the conversation immediately or worse, I would have had to have faked enjoying the movie.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t do this often, nor do I enjoy doing it. It is just sometimes easier. Nobody wants to engage in conversations with a know-it-all.

I just find that there is the odd time when I think faster than the person I’m conversing with and rather than burst their bubble, it is easier to keep the conversation flowing smoothly.

In writing this, I wonder how many other people do this too or if people have done it with me…

Kelry

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

